20: Trailblazing… finding a path


I am looking for a path… a way forward to help me embed knowledge of the cards into my memory so references are only used infrequently and I can start allowing my intuition into the process. This will result in my understanding of the cards to be ‘second-nature’ and will increase my confidence.

I remember, way back when I was in school, that one of the methods employed to embed information was to use flash cards. It wasn’t just the creation of the flash cards that helped with this, it was utilising the flash cards to challenge and fill in the gaps in memory. I used to write information down in more than one way to help embed information but, as I find it difficult to physically write down information any more as it is difficult for me to hold a pen, I cannot employ this method now.

I intend to make symbolic flash cards so ‘writing’ will be only as needed and pictures, colors and symbols will replace words in most instances. For this, I can use a collage technique if I need to and I can use pens that are more fluid over the paper or colored pencils when I need to have additional control. I won’t have to create them all in one day and, if I realistically pace myself, I expect to have this task finished for my Tarot cards within 2-3 months. Creating these cards will be the most helpful thing I will do. In fact, they may just be my own Tarot deck by the time I finish! (Now, that’s a thought!)

Have you ever thought of creating your own Tarot deck? What methods will you employ?

Today, I have drawn The Devil, XV. I am using the Thoth Tarot illustrated by Lady Frieda Harris.

I love this card! It is so FULL and so fabulous!

This card is primal and creative energy! It is spiritual enlightenment, phallic, suggestive of DNA and spiral galaxies, and orgiastic, creative potential of the universe. The Fool and the Magus are represented here in creative impulse and divine will. There is replication at work through mitosis and the genetic material of our cells.

This cards speaks of instinctual, creative process – drive, determination, ambition and the motivation to improve.

This is a fabulous card for my day! I will need this motivation and drive to improve and the determination to focus on my task at hand. I love that I am being supported by creative energy and the spiritual enlightenment this card suggests. My day should be fruitful and I need to get started!

How will you create today? What motivation do you need to manage your tasks? Is your day full of creative energy and potential?

Until tomorrow… Love, light and blessings!

4 thoughts on “20: Trailblazing… finding a path

  1. Now that’s an interesting way to view this card, which often has negative connotations in its classic RWS depiction. Neat! I am creating my own deck, which is growing organically, with some pruning and shaping, from my interest in the cosmos. I’ve only seen one other deck that has the same basic idea, the Quantum Tarot, but I’m not quite so theoretical. The trick is to decide how much to leave NASA’s images of the universe alone to speak, and how much illustrative embellishment to add to create more symbolism for the Tarot “story.” We’ll see. I’m not a visual artist, but a word one, so I’ll be partnering to create this. Will you do yours, words and pictures, by yourself?

    • Hi Lady Joanne! Thanks for your comments! I can’t see the negative in negative cards… I think I’m just too positive a person and I always find a way to see the positive bits. LOL I thought about the Quantum Tarot as the images really are very compelling and ‘speak’ to me. But I have hesitated as I don’t believe they truly tell a Tarot ‘story.’

      I hope to create my own deck, words and pictures. I haven’t quite decided but I am dealing more with symbolism and colours as the basis and being quite sparse with words. I may create more of a collage deck as my hands don’t work terribly well these days. But, as you can see, I am still not certain. Right now, I am making flash cards and this exercise should help me pare down and make use of symbols and colours and solidify the words I will use. I hope you have a great partner to work with on your project and I wish you the best of success with it!

      As I progress, I will start using my own cards here… they will be Thoth based as I can’t get to grips with the RWS-style of deck. These should then, I hope, generate some feedback and allow me to finesse them over time. Wish me luck! Love, light and blessings!

      • Great! I look forward to seeing both the art and the story. I agree that both need to be solid and compelling and the Tarot structure and “idea” need to be respected. Otherwise, I think one has a 78-card oracle deck, really. It can be an interesting balance. For example, I like the Wildwood deck overall, particularly the artwork and “period,” but there is perhaps too much of the author’s own personal “agenda” in the words part. Hard to explain.

        And also, you are right that there’s a decision to make about going Thoth vs. RWS. They are the two basic philosophies (after the original Marseilles cards), and decks seem to fall into one or the other tradition. I haven’t learned enough about Thoth yet to tell, but I’m getting the feeling that it’s more abstract and would be a better structural fit for my universe/cosmos deck.

        I will definitely come back to you with my draft to get your take on it.

      • Hi Lady Joanne! I knew it wasn’t going to be an easy task. Once you make decisions about style and philosophy, everything seems to get a little easier. I’ve been guilty of over-thinking things on occasion and making them harder than they need to be. I think, in this context, it is probably good to over-think everything just a little bit. Writing a book is a nightmare when it comes to consistency and continuity, especially one with loads of characters and episodic scenes. When you compound it with adding 78 little bits that will capture the essence, it can be mind boggling! LOL

        So, I have decided on style and philosophy. Now, all I have to do is get the book written and overcome any issues with consistency and continuity… it should be easy!

        I look forward to your draft. I’d be happy to look it over and give you some constructive feedback. This should be an interesting journey for both of us! Love, light and blessings!

Leave a comment