The Contract Tarot – Forward Progress


As you know and have seen if you’ve been keeping up with the cards on FaceBook, none of my cards have people in them. There are several reasons for this:

1) I didn’t want to bias anyone’s interpretation of the cards based on the attitude, body language, race, perceived creed pictures of people may evoke;

2) I didn’t want anyone to write to me later and tell me that I used their image.

3) I wanted this deck to be accessible to everyone based entirely on concepts.

Saying that, I am now at the point of creating where I am faced with Court Cards (typically King, Queen, Knight and Page) which denote physical appearances of people. I will not be using ‘people’ in my Court Cards. Rather, I will be using ‘concepts’ of these people to address this.

  • Kings/Wisdom
  • Queens/Intuition
  • Knights/Aspiration
  • Pages/Inspiration

To move on to the Suits (typically wands, swords, cups and pentacles), I will not be using the usual suits.

  • Wands/Runes (R)
  • Swords/Arts & Sciences (AS)
  • Cups/Virtues & Cosmic Principles (VP)
  • Pentacles/ Gemstones (G)

You will begin to see a shift in the cards now that the Major Arcana are done. I will continue to post the Major Arcana until I am through them. I will then show the Suits – Ace-10 and then Court Cards.

I hope you will come to find these to be a way to open your perception in a different way. I know I am asking a lot of you and hope you will bear with me. All will become clear over time.

Until tomorrow… Love, light and blessings!

2 thoughts on “The Contract Tarot – Forward Progress

  1. Interesting ideas, particularly with regard to the suits in the minor arcana. I look forward to seeing how the runes in particular, work. For my universe deck I also thought about shifting the suits to reflect cosmology symbolism that might match with the sensibilities of the suits. It’s an interesting game to think up correspondences (mental/swords/air/gases?, will/wands/fire/stars?, emotion/cups/water/energetic forces?, material/pentacles/earth/planets?). Humans provide so many possibilities with their love of symbolism, don’t they?

    And for the Courts, go for it. In my Legacy of the Divine Tarot, although most of the cards have people in them, I was a little surprised that all the Knights were represented by empty helmets, but it works fine.

    • Lady Joanne, I’ve just posted my first card in the suit of Runes. It is on FB. Hope you find it interesting! Here we go… breaking the mold again! LOL! Love, light and blessings!

Leave a comment